My greatest (only!) cake success.

Look what I made to take over to my folks for tea the other night….

IMG_0702

It was absolutely yummy and went down a treat… well, with the exception of my three-year-old nephew who isn’t partial to the citrus zing in the lime curd filling! Perhaps he should have tried the cream cheese topping first šŸ™‚

I’ve been asked for the recipe… I cannot claim to have invented it – I found it over here. You can work your own magic with the decoration – I could eat the whole bowl of cream cheese icing flavoured with lime juice all by itself. Also, the lime curd in it’s own right is FAB. Yes, in capital letters. šŸ™‚ The recipe makes enough for a regular jam-jar-full, and that was sufficient both to generously fill my cake AND top some hot toast the next morning! Also, it doesn’t say in the recipe, but I sieved my eggs before using to make the curd. I mean, who wants bits of stray egg-white in their sauce, right?!

IMG_0701

My desire to bake something along these lines stemmed from a visit to the pretty town of Harrogate in the UK a couple of months ago. A courgette and lime cake in an interior-design-studio-come-cafe (yes indeed!) grabbed my interest as I’d never tried anything other than carrot cake in the veggie-meets-baking stakes. I’ve since had a scrumptious beetroot & chocolate cake experience and all of this has cultivated a curiosity as to what I can generate with the spoils from my vegetable garden as the coming months pass. All suggestions (& recipes!) welcome.

2 thoughts on “My greatest (only!) cake success.

  1. Thanks for the link and glad you liked the recipe. My children decorated the cake and I let them have free reign to encourage them to bake and give them a joy for cooking.

Leave a Reply

